Reasons to Be Cheerful

I’ll be honest, I was a bit annoyed at myself after my Barn that Routine Forgot post.  I got on my own nerves.

I like a good moan, who doesn’t?  But, generally, I am much more of a glass half full than glass half empty type of person – and it’s that side of me that I would prefer to come across in the blog.  I let myself down, I let my family down and, most of all, I let you down.  Sorry.

Unsurprisingly the DBS still hasn’t made an appearance, J has been in touch again this morning to be told “oh, did we say IN 18 weeks….oh, sorry, we meant OVER 18 weeks”.  He’s now found out who to complain to, to be told by them that he should complain to the other party – disorganised drunken times in a brewery spring to mind.  But hey ho.  We’ve been through worse and we’ll get through this.

It’s still a bit early to do a That Was The Year That Was type post, but what a year 2016 has been so far – starting with the loss of David Bowie, then came Victoria Wood, Alan Rickman, Prince, Leonard Cohen, and I know there are others I’ll be shocked I’ve forgotten the loss of already.  On top of that Brexit, then Trump…2016 is a year many of us will be glad to say farewell to – and probably not that fondly.

But, for us as a family, 2016 also saw us move to a place we love.  A place we thought unattainable.  I think in that respect, 2016 has taught me that if you want something enough, you can get there – it might be a difficult journey, there might be dark times where the light feels more distant than you ever remember it being – but one day we will look back at this time with a wry smile and remember.  Because life will be easier then.  And we’ll take it for granted.

Obviously 2016 isn’t done yet so there is still time for it to spring some more surprises on us, but, when hanging out the (never-ending) washing this morning, listening to the birds singing and watching the girl child running around the garden, I realised that it’s tough to feel too downhearted when the biggest worries of the week (other than the DBS shaped elephant in the room) were the non-appearance of the supermoon due to cloud cover, and the girl child being so shrieky on the trampoline that the birds wouldn’t hang around the feeders long enough for me to get a decent photograph.

birds-2016-022
Enjoying the acrobatics of the Blue Tit
birds-2016-021
Nerves of steel – never scared by a small child
2 comments

Leave a Reply

