The Devil Went Down to Leicester

A few months ago, I passed comment to J that you never see Devil’s Toenails anymore;

“What are they?” he asked

“Stones.  They are shaped a bit like a toenail, which I suppose is why they’re called what they’re called…have you never seen one?” says I

“Nope” says he

“Odd” says I.

The recent trip to Leicester brought this conversation back to mind, particularly because I was doing a bit of weeding in mum’s garden and came across a Devil’s Toenail.  I picked it up and brought it inside to keep to show J, and then I thought I’d do a bit of Googling to see if they were actually a thing.  And it turns out they very much are.

April 17 017

Devil’s Toenails (or Gryphaea to give them their posh name) are fossils from extinct oysters, which made me feel a bit stupid, as in all my years I hadn’t realised (or maybe I’d just forgotten) that they were fossils, and are so called because of their shape.  When I looked at the one I’d found more closely, I could see lines on it, which it turns out are growth bands.  I think they are quite common across Britain, but Googling also shows they seem particularly so around the Midlands.  I had a bit more of a dig around the gravel and found quite a few more, I showed them to the kids and explained what they were; they didn’t seem very impressed.  Anyway I collected two of them (the ones I decided were prize specimens) and have now brought them home and they are being displayed in our treasures jar.

April 17 018

This is a jar of nice stones, feathers, pieces of wasp nests, fossils, shells, sea glass, a dried up starfish (it was dead and dried when I found it) and other bits and pieces we have picked up over the years when out and about.  In my head, one day I will sit with the kids and go through it all, talking about what the things are, how they feel, what they look like etc etc.  However the only time I have tried this with the girl I found it all too stressful, as she either tried to eat it all, or smash things together, and so I hurriedly put everything back in the jar (just so) and tried to distract her from it for days after.  An educational opportunity for another day perhaps.

 

One thought on “The Devil Went Down to Leicester

Leave a Reply

